I grew up in Hackney, East London, to teen newly-wed parents trying to figure out how to raise a family, It was a time when friendships and loyalty mattered most and community spirit was alive.
Despite all this, my upbringing wasn't a bed of roses, it was actually a turbulent time full of chaos and uncertainty - this isn't to put a dampener on my story, but instead to be honest and "tell it like it is" because only then, can you walk with me and understand where I'm coming from to where I am now in life.
From a young age, I developed a mystery illness that caused nerve deafness and I subsequently lost my hearing. From then on, everything was a battle which I proudly fought and didn't let hold me back.
I have two wonderful children aged 19 and 13, they make me beam with pride as I watch them grow into a young man and woman.
My days are filled with so much laughter and frustration with their witty backchat, and quirky personalities. Never a dull moment in our home!
It's their love and attentiveness towards each other that fills me with joy, the fact that no matter what, they have each other's back.
They are my sole reason to keep pushing daily and working on myself, mentally and physically.
This is one of the reasons why I decided to become a nurse. The journey to becoming a nurse challenged and pushed me to the limit. I applied several times and was rejected more times than I care to remember, I knew this was what I wanted to do and never gave up. Through sheer determination, I succeeded and was offered a place to study adult nursing at a top London University.
As the years have gone on, my passion for nursing has grown, I love what I do and glean much satisfaction from caring for my patients and seeing them make a full recovery, knowing I had a small part to play.
Little did I know what the future would have in store for me...


You can drop me a message either via Twitter @Naomi_My_Story or HERE I love reading all of your messages of encouragement.
If you are moved by my story and want to get more involved, please consider doing one of the following two things:

1. Registering to become an Organ Donor here: https://www.organdonation.nhs.uk/ if you do, be sure to let me know!
New registrations give me a boost!

2. If you want to help me directly by being tested to see if you could donate, you will need to be aware of the following:
  • Firstly, I am BLOOD TYPE O-NEGATIVE it's important you know this in advance to be considered for a possible direct donation.
    Failing that, an indirect donation is still a possibility. Please still get in touch using the below...
  • Secondly, please complete THIS FORM and someone will get back to you to move things forward.

AGAIN, THANK YOU!