I FINALLY GOT AROUND TO FINISHING THIS POST FROM EARLIER IN DECEMBER...

Today, 2nd December, was a really positive day. Over the past few weeks, I've been speaking privately with someone in the public eye who has a platform to help me spread the message of Organ Donation, spread my story to the wider Community. As I've previously said, every conversation is a step in the right direction.

So where did this all begin...?

Twitter has been my voice over the past few weeks, it's allowed me to share my thoughts and feelings. In the past, I'd never fully embraced Twitter, I didn't fully understand it. A friend helped me get up and running by creating an account for me to use.

We started by searching for People touched by Kidney Failure, Renal Failure, Organ Donation and Organ Transplantation.
We also sought out Organisations;
a) involved in the development of transplant techniques
b) whose focus is to share new news - success stories
c) supporting people going through the process
We found a thriving community of people, all with a common goal, providing hope and support for the future. Reading the replies left against tweets, made Twitter truly feel like a good place to be. I hadn't expected this.

Previously, my perception of Twitter had been one of negativity. Full of trolls, spreading nothing but bile and hatred. What more could I expect, it was all I ever saw in the press. My experience thus far couldn't have been further from this!

During the process of connecting with People and Organisations, I decided to look at celebrities and people in the public eye. People I felt could make a difference if they were able to hear/read about my story. I like to think celebrities are real people too(!) People who can inspire change if minded to do so.

After a few weeks of reading the tweets of others, retweeting and posting my own thoughts or links to my Story - I found the person this post is essentially about.

First contact 12th November!

I followed her. Before long (felt like minutes) she followed me back! I was shocked, I didn't expect the 'follow back' quite so quickly. I took the opportunity to send her a Direct Message (DM). I felt it important to introduce myself, explain who I am and what I'm trying to do. Namely, share my story and increase Organ Donation awareness within the Black Community. I remember thinking, "how is this going to come across?" as I typed. A new thought entered my mind, 'Elevator pitch - you've got one shot at this'.

I didn't want to mess up the message but I also didn't want to leave it too long after being followed... Strike while the iron is hot - so to speak.

DM written and checked for errors. I hit Send... Now sent, I paused for a few moments, wondering whether my message was too long. To be fair, though my DM filled my phone's screen, it wasn't a very long message. Will she have the time or patience to read it!? Let alone respond!

We all have preconceived ideas about the busy schedules of celebrities. I could do no more but wait, and hope for a response.

It all happened so quickly... before I knew it, there I was, looking at a DM in my inbox! She replied!!! To say I resembled a Cheshire Cat, grinning from ear to ear, would have been an understatement! I couldn't stop reading the message over and over. Was it real? Was I imaging things? Yes - it was real! No - I wasn't imagining things!

With all the emotional highs and lows I've gone through over the past few weeks, this day has to be highlighted as a day to remember - one of few high point on my journey so far.
My high quickly turned to dread... The realisation hit - I now have to compose another message!!! *GULP* This all feels very daunting but exciting at the same time.

Now I have an audience, an opportunity to go into more detail and express my vision and my frustrations!

I go back to something I wrote early on in my story: Until we are personally touched by Organ Donation, it's just something that happens to other people. It's natural to think this - I get it. I see it, I've lived it. Now I'm on the other side, I now recognise the change I want to see in others.

I drafted my e-mail or should I say essay, it felt like being back in school, English GCSE! I wonder what my Tutor would make of me now? All this storytelling I'm doing! I read the e-mail at least 10 times before sending it. It was long, it was detailed and it covered all the points I felt were important to be conveyed. An illustration of todays reality.

Again, I would have to wait to see how my mail would be received... I didn't have to wait too long, and I wasn't disappointed. I remember feeling touched at the reply. The thought that this person - who didn't need to - wanted to help. It humbled me.

Roll forward a few weeks and here we are... 19th December the day before the broadcast!


You can drop me a message either via Twitter @Naomi_My_Story or HERE I love reading all of your messages of encouragement.
If you are moved by my story and want to get more involved, please consider doing one of the following two things:

1. Registering to become an Organ Donor here: https://www.organdonation.nhs.uk/ if you do, be sure to let me know!
New registrations give me a boost!

2. If you want to help me directly by being tested to see if you could donate, you will need to be aware of the following:
  • Firstly, I am BLOOD TYPE O-NEGATIVE it's important you know this in advance to be considered for a possible direct donation.
    Failing that, an indirect donation is still a possibility. Please still get in touch using the below...
  • Secondly, please complete THIS FORM and someone will get back to you to move things forward.

AGAIN, THANK YOU!