I want to take a moment to step away from my story, to look at the statistics surrounding Organ Donation within my Community.

I'm sure by now you're aware - if you've been following my blog, I'm from the BAME Community. For those of you who don't know, BAME is short for:

Black Asian Minority Ethnic

It was only after starting this journey to find a suitable kidney donor, I realised the true state of Organ Donation within my Community.

Prior to having my eyes opened, I didn't realise Organ Donation for people in my community wasn't the same as it is in say, the white Community.

{Before I go any further, I should point out, this post is in no way geared towards splitting the ongoing quest to help everyone who finds themselves - like me - on a waiting list for a donor to come forward. We should, and I believe we are pooling our efforts and resources for the greater good, to help all, regardless of ethnic background. However, we also need to address the elephant in the room. That's what this post is all about.}

You see, I'm faced with the cold hard fact that there are far fewer Donor Registrations from BAME people, which in turn results in longer patient waiting lists and more time on dialysis. A disparity that needs to be discussed and addressed.

Don't get me wrong, this doesn't apply across the board or in all situations where organ donation is concerned, but it's a reality that needs to be recognised when speaking about this topic. I already knew donor matching is complex, but I didn't know how much ethnicity played a part in finding a match. I understand there are many factors that need to be taken into consideration to increase the chances of a successful organ transplant. Including, but not limited to blood type and tissue type. It's been said 'no question is a stupid question', we are all products of our experiences and what we've been exposed to. I, like many before me, haven't necessarily been exposed to the world of organ donation in its many guises before. I'm still learning, still educating myself.
I found the following information on the NHS Organ Donation Webpage (Organ donation and ethnicity) recently...


The current situation

Over 1,800... Black, Asian and minority ethnic patients are currently waiting for a transplant.

901... Black, Asian and minority ethnic patients received a transplant from a deceased donor last year. Those who do have their life saved or improved by a transplant will often have waited significantly longer for a successful match than white patients.

114... Black, Asian and minority ethnic patients donated organs when they died last year. If more people donated their organs after death, or as a living donor, then transplant waiting times would reduce.

I want those figures to sink in for a moment.
In my mind, I know something needs to change. I know we have the capability to do more. It's not enough, that only 114 people donated their organs after death last year.
Every conversation we have within our community is a step in the right direction towards greater awareness.

I came across the following video the other day, a friend forwarded it to me via WhatsApp:

It was published by NHS Give Blood on the 9th October 2018. When I first saw it on YouTube, it had only been viewed 900 times!
I accept, it is more than likely being circulated via other platforms - after all I received it on WhatsApp - and I know @GiveBloodNHS have it on their Twitter feed (at the time or writing this, it had approximately 3k retweets and 4.7k likes).

A message as important as this needs to be broadcast on television, it needs greater coverage, greater penetration into the community - and not just once or twice but repeatedly to make sure it generates conversations, permeates the generations. For that, is where change really starts to happen. When we come together to discuss issues like this.



You can drop me a message either via Twitter @Naomi_My_Story or HERE I love reading all of your messages of encouragement.
If you are moved by my story and want to get more involved, please consider doing one of the following two things:

1. Registering to become an Organ Donor here: https://www.organdonation.nhs.uk/ if you do, be sure to let me know!
New registrations give me a boost!

2. If you want to help me directly by being tested to see if you could donate, you will need to be aware of the following:
  • Firstly, I am BLOOD TYPE O-NEGATIVE it's important you know this in advance to be considered for a possible direct donation.
    Failing that, an indirect donation is still a possibility. Please still get in touch using the below...
  • Secondly, please complete THIS FORM and someone will get back to you to move things forward.

AGAIN, THANK YOU!