A few days before Organ Donation Week started, I saw this post on Twitter:
With this being my first Organ Donation Week, I felt the need to get out and do something! Whatever I could to support the wider cause. I also saw it as an opportunity to meet people who are also going through the same thing as me as well as those who've been touched in some way by Organ Donation. I reached out to my good friend Ruth who jumped at the chance to support the cause and walk with me.
At that time, I had no idea what to expect from the day; how long I'd be expected to walk, what time it would start or finish - nothing! I just felt the urge to get involved.
Walking was something I could do, providing I took my time and didn't lag too far behind I'd be OK. After all, I used to walk a lot each day when I was a busy working Mum for the NHS! I was on my feet all day practically, not to mention the commute to and from work each shift. However, looking back, that chapter of my life feels like a lifetime ago.
These days, I have to manage my activities and the associated 'cost' I'm liable to pay the next day. The saying "Act in haste, repent at leisure" comes to mind. Do you remember when you were young and invincible? A Superhero, fearless and confident, because 'nothing will happen to me'. Well, in the early stages of this illness, I can hold my hands up and say I paid the price for having that mentality a few times - before I started to wise up to my reality. I guess you could say I learned the hard way. Overdo it today, pay for it tomorrow.
Even with these thoughts at the back of my mind, I was determined to be among those walkers.

Wednesday 4th September, the night before the walk. I took the time to get my things together, ready for the day ahead:

  • Trainers - check
  • Leggings - check
  • Water Bottle, in the fridge ready - check
  • Forecast for tomorrow - check, it's going to be a good day!

I awoke the next morning feeling somewhat out of sorts, it's become a regular occurrence, even if I don't overdo it the day before. Sometimes I just feel ill! But, I wasn't about to let that stop me, I'm not a quitter! Plus I didn't want to let anyone down. My warm bed started begging me to stay, my mind started to justify a 'no show' (don't judge me, we've all been there). I resisted, threw back the duvet and jumped out of bed, focused on my objectives to get out the door.
I'd arranged to meet up with Ruth at UCH in plenty of time for registration and to mingle. Though it's true I was excited, I was also nervous. Primarily because I didn't know if I would have the energy to complete the walk.

Prior to getting the participant information by e-mail, I truly had no idea what to expect, this was my first one of these walks, come to think of it - any type of group walks! I had no idea how many people were also planning to participate. Turns out I was in just one of many groups walking from multiple starting points across London. Each group consisting of around 50 people....

ALL PHOTOS BELOW






You can drop me a message either via Twitter @Naomi_My_Story or HERE I love reading all of your messages of encouragement.
If you are moved by my story and want to get more involved, please consider doing one of the following two things:

1. Registering to become an Organ Donor here: https://www.organdonation.nhs.uk/ if you do, be sure to let me know!
New registrations give me a boost!

2. If you want to help me directly by being tested to see if you could donate, you will need to be aware of the following:
  • Firstly, I am BLOOD TYPE O-NEGATIVE it's important you know this in advance to be considered for a possible direct donation.
    Failing that, an indirect donation is still a possibility. Please still get in touch using the below...
  • Secondly, please complete THIS FORM and someone will get back to you to move things forward.

AGAIN, THANK YOU!