With the Spring 2020 Organ donation law change fast approaching, I was asked my thoughts on the topic and how I felt it would impact me specifically and the wider Black, Asian and minority ethnic community. There's so much to say on this that it took me a while to gather my thoughts before I could respond.

THE QUESTION:
"I was after a quote that I can use in a story I am writing about the change in law around organ donation for 2020 (opt-out becoming the standard)
I just wanted to know the impact you think this will have on people from minorities awaiting a match. And for you personally, how you feel about it?"

It's been difficult to fully quantify the impact the forthcoming law change will have. Being that I myself am waiting for a Kidney, I'm naturally focused specifically on the response Black and Asian people will have to the changes. Will they be as open to what lies ahead, as other sections of society might be? It's hard to tell.

The changes give hope to people on waiting lists from minority ethnic backgrounds living in England and Scotland.
The current system of asking people to "opt-in" doesn't appear to be making a significant enough impact on the number of people waiting for a life-saving organ transplant. In fact, the number of people waiting for a transplant from ethnic minority backgrounds has been steadily rising over time. Black people, in particular, represent a larger percentage of organ donors on the register.

Organ donor registration rates don't appear to be keeping pace with waiting list numbers. A different approach is needed to address the status quo. We need to leave behind the historic, cultural or supposed religious reasons that have been holding us back. Ethnic minorities just aren't as willing to donate as others. Something needed to change.
Ultimately the goal is to save lives - and reduce the number of avoidable premature deaths while on waiting lists. The changes will go some way towards addressing that.

What people fail to realise is that the changes will improve things within our community. People should take the time to recognise what's happening - right now - without this change. The stats are out there...
Patients like myself should be encouraged to speak up more. I do what I can but I'm just one of few voices. We need more voices from the community talking to the community.
I worry about where people get their information from. Which is why I hope and pray charitable organisations like ACLT, NBTA and GOLD, primarily supporting ethnic minority communities alongside the NHS are geared up to educate the community in ways that work. I envisage a need for their presence now more than ever over the coming months, as possible resistance to change get closer.

I've thought long and hard about the pros and cons of an "opt-out" system. I've read arguments on both sides of the discussion. I feel on the whole this change is a positive step to helping the many thousands waiting for a call that could change their lives for the better. My wish is that as a community, we open our hearts to what we can achieve when we come together, for the greater good.

I've read numerous stories on here - on an almost daily basis - about non-BAME people giving to family members and in some cases total strangers because they've felt so touched by the appeals they've seen or read about. Why is it our own community doesn't feel as compelled to respond in kind? We are capable of so much, when we come together.

For me personally, the law change brings a renewed hope that instead of feeling resigned to a life of dialysis and poor health, I may be one day closer to receiving the call that will change my life, to simply regain my strength, confidence and ability to enjoy life without limitations again.

I think it's easy to be sceptical and resist the opt-out law change, we naturally fear what we don't understand. I think it's a great opportunity for us and I urge all who read this to be courageous in the face of change.
Someday it could save the life of the very person who resists change.

Link to Full Article:






You can drop me a message either via Twitter @Naomi_My_Story or HERE I love reading all of your messages of encouragement.
If you are moved by my story and want to get more involved, please consider doing one of the following two things:

1. Registering to become an Organ Donor here: https://www.organdonation.nhs.uk/ if you do, be sure to let me know!
New registrations give me a boost!

2. If you want to help me directly by being tested to see if you could donate, you will need to be aware of the following:
  • Firstly, I am BLOOD TYPE O-NEGATIVE it's important you know this in advance to be considered for a possible direct donation.
    Failing that, an indirect donation is still a possibility. Please still get in touch using the below...
  • Secondly, please complete THIS FORM and someone will get back to you to move things forward.

AGAIN, THANK YOU!




NEXT POST - COMING SOON