I wrote to my constituency MP, Ms Osamor to see if she would accompany me to this very important event... I sent her the following:

Hello Ms Osamor,
My name is Naomi Adams, you may not remember me, I reached out to you some time ago regarding a disability issue, now resolved.

I'm contacting you today, in regards to the subject event above. As you may or may not know, 11th March is World Kidney Day and I would like to invite YOU as my Constituency MP to attend the meeting with me.

It's a drop-in reception starting at 4pm on Wednesday 11 March 2020 in Dining Room A, which is being sponsored by Dan Jarvis MP on behalf of Kidney Care UK and NHS Blood and Transplant.

A little bit about me...
So, what is my personal interest in this particular event? Well, I'm currently undergoing treatment for Kidney Failure. I was diagnosed in October 2018 and since November 2018, I've been campaigning for Black and ethnic minority community members to get involved in Organ Donation. As currently, we are some of the least likely to donate organs after death or during life, demographically. Statistics from NHS Blood and Transplant mirror these facts. Ironically, we also fit into the category of patients who wait for an organ the longest.

I'm sure you're aware of the work conducted by ACLT (Afro Caribbean Leukaemia Trust) to raise awareness within the Black Community for Stem Cell, Blood and now Organ Donation. Well, they're supporting my campaign to find an organ donor through their network of media contacts. Thanks to their work, I've been able to tell my story on ITV, Sky and in the local News Paper. As well as speaking at Youth Events and more recently at a College in South London.

Within the last 12 months, I've been active on Twitter (yes, I follow you too) sharing and talking about the benefits of all things - Organ Donation.
In the case of the event on the 11th March, the focus will be on World Kidney Day. I'm currently pre-dialysis but that will change soon due in large part to the decline in my Kidney function over the past number of months.

I would love for you to accept my invitation, I think the benefits far out way the drawbacks and we need more voices to echo this message to counter the negative, false, fake news being spread on some social media platforms. Together I feel we can encourage the Black community to educate themselves with pure knowledge - FACTS instead of believing WhatsApp forwards spreading fear amongst the communities of London and beyond.

I'm in the process of telling my story via the Blog in my Signature. I have a few blog posts to publish to bring it up to date, as you can imagine, I'm doing what I can to raise awareness and raise 2 children on my own.

I hope you're able to allocate time towards this two hour reception. The Organ Donation Law change is coming this Spring and the more support we have, the better for the long term success of the change.

Thank you for your time and I hope to hear back from you in the not too distant future.


*AS OF 03/09/2020 NO REPLY RECEIVED*