Today, I'm off to the hospital with my lovely friend [NAME REMOVED] for her initial living donor testing! I was saying thank you to her just last night.
She said, "Ni, as mothers, the most loving and powerful thing we do is bring forth life, I know I'm not 'just' donating a kidney, it's all about giving life".
Those words are EVERYTHING. I have a blotchy face from crying!

My friend wants to remain anonymous throughout this process, so I must respect her wishes.

What I will say though is that she's no stranger to what I'm going through, having grown up with a parent who experienced similar issues. She's witnessed it first hand.
Today was a positive step for me, another generous person stepping forward in an effort to help. Times like this give me hope for a brighter future, it's what I hope for. It's a step in the right direction and though it's just the start of a lengthy journey - which may end sooner rather than later if she's found to not be a direct match. It'll be a repeat of what I experienced before. Witnessing my friend go through tests, feeling a sense of gratitude and guilt all rolled into one. Gratitude at someone volunteering to help ME and guilt because there is such a need to be helped. It's hard to explain.
If her results prove not to be compatible... then we'll have to cross that bridge and explore options.

For now, we keep our fingers crossed and our spirits up.





You can drop me a message either via Twitter @Naomi_My_Story or HERE I love reading all of your messages of encouragement.
If you are moved by my story and want to get more involved, please consider doing one of the following two things:

1. Registering to become an Organ Donor here: https://www.organdonation.nhs.uk/ if you do, be sure to let me know!
New registrations give me a boost!

2. If you want to help me directly by being tested to see if you could donate, you will need to be aware of the following:
  • Firstly, I am BLOOD TYPE O-NEGATIVE it's important you know this in advance to be considered for a possible direct donation.
    Failing that, an indirect donation is still a possibility. Please still get in touch using the below...
  • Secondly, please complete THIS FORM and someone will get back to you to move things forward.

AGAIN, THANK YOU!