With this latest update (as at 14th April) I feel I need to share some of what's been happening offline up until this point.
I have some exciting news to share with you... However, before doing so, I want to explore a reality that exists within many (but not all) African and Caribbean families.
I've never fully gone into detail about my family's involvement - or lack thereof. Partly for fear of what it might do to the bond between us, partly because of the embarrassment and perhaps shame they - and I - would feel at the thought of onlookers making judgements.
Shame and embarrassment aside. I recognise through my time at the NHS, a person's support network in a crisis can sometimes make the difference between a positive or negative outcome. Why? Simply because no person, man or woman is an island. No matter how tough or strong we think we are! The reality is, we are social beings, we weren't meant to live in isolation. We crave the warmth and comfort of others and from time to time, we all benefit from having someone to lean on.
A common assumption is that the family unit is perhaps the most obvious place we should be able to turn to - above all others - to seek refuge in a crisis. As the saying goes "Blood is thicker than water". Though, the reality for many, couldn't be further from the truth.
As you can appreciate, I'm choosing my words carefully. Previously I opted to tip-toe around this subject for reasons I've already alluded to.
As human beings, we all experience the highs and lows of life. The daily grind, thoughts of getting by, children, their future, good schools etc. Or perhaps more generally - moving forward, improving one's economic situation, lifestyle or home, and all that entails.
Now add a life-changing or life-threatening illness to the above mix... Think about that for a moment. How would YOU cope, without family or a network of friends? For some this is their reality, for some, it becomes too much.
It's natural to question the fairness of nature's rolling dice;
Why me?!
What have I done to deserve this?
It's at those points in our lives, we need someone or a group of people to turn to, to reassure us, pump us back up and keep us strong. Saving us from the downward spiral that can lead to depression or worse.
We need to be reminded of the things we already know but have somehow lost sight of amid the myriad of thoughts of an uncertain future... To focus on positives and keep pushing forward. We can't ignore the negative thoughts, nor should we stifle them! We need the space to express, exhale and address that which troubles us most.
In my case, my thoughts are primarily preoccupied with my children's future. What will come of them if I'm no longer here? I've already spoken about them in the past, so I won't get into that so much here. I'd like to think my extended family would step in and play their part. But these past few months, dealing with my illness leads me to question even that.
I couldn't imagine going through this alone, and though I come from a large family, only a few of my family members have actively sought to check-in or offer help and support.
I get it, we all live busy lives... And yet here I am still making excuses for them, in my hour of need!!
I don't feel I've had the love and support one typically associates with family. I thought it would be different. I had visions of the loving arms of many, wrapped around my little unit of 3.
Instead, some of my friends have played a bigger part in this story of mine, been my support network, helping me deal with this illness. Mainly because I didn't seek to cause an issue with family.

Now for the Newsflash, I recently spoke of...

In a recent post, I spoke about the London Assembly's Gala. The day after that took place my Mum was due to be tested for compatibility. It goes without saying, I'm more than grateful to her for stepping forward to be tested. I don't think I'll ever be able to fully express how much weight this news has lifted from my mind. The wait for news is again agonisingly long, for both her and I. On the one hand, I'm overjoyed. Whilst on the other, I can't help but worry about my Mother's health and well-being. The last thing I would want is for her to go through any pain or distress because of me - I'm told this is a common thought amongst transplant recipients when family members offer to donate. I get that we are far from that stage, but I can't help but think ahead. I need to wait and see if she's a match first! I hate waiting!
Previously, a friend I spoke about was unfortunately confirmed as not being the same blood group with incompatible tissue types. His sister - upon reading my story - wanted to step forward to be tested too. She too was incompatible. All of this occurred prior to family choosing to get involved. It's a harsh fact I can't sugarcoat, it is what it is. I try to look beyond the knee jerk reaction of what I've just written. Seeking to find a reason for family inaction.
Some would want me to speak about the emotional impact it's had on me, lay myself bare for all to read, but I can't. I need to hold something back. Some thoughts are too painful to express and commit to 'paper'.
Instead, I lay the blame firmly at the feet of historic events that have undeniably lead to a deep seated mistrust of the medical profession. Watch the below, for a well known historic example.

EXAMPLE:


Stories like this, coupled with false and misleading information, allowed to circulate online unchecked and unchallenged by the greater good, 'Fake News' as it were. The fightback however is well underway and from what I've seen, well-coordinated. False information discovered by the network of Organ Donation advocates is very much pounced on with facts and true-life examples to dispel what's been said. If we can't remove false information we can at the very least flood the comment with factual information so that the casual reader can see Fiction followed by a wave of truth to also read and hopefully go off and educate themselves further. Many courageous people and Organisations are working to address fiction this with EDUCATION.


"Education is the most powerful weapon which
you can use to change the world."
- Nelson Mandela
I came across the above quote recently while searching for something online. It made me stop and think about the great man himself and his struggles to change attitudes.

The lies about Organ Donation have been allowed to permeate into my community's subconsciousness. Repeated again and again, until the lines between truth and fiction become blurred.

Now add to that, the fact that very few people these days, ever choose to read beyond the headlines of a story OR even attempt to independently verify or validate what they're being told. We now live in a society where people don't generally take the time to properly educate themselves to separate truth from fiction.

When taking all of the above into account, what are you left with...?

Here are just a few examples of what I've read online about Organ Donation:

  • If I've been in an accident and I'm on the Organ Donor register, A&E Doctors won't try as hard to save my life.
  • When I die, the hospital will cut up my body leaving my family with a mess of a corpse for the burial.
  • I'll be targeted by Kidnappers. Disappearing, never to be found again.
  • My DNA will be stolen, I'll be cloned!
  • My Organs will be given away to white people.

This is just a small sample of what I've read online that I can publish here.


You can drop me a message either via Twitter @Naomi_My_Story or HERE I love reading all of your messages of encouragement.
If you are moved by my story and want to get more involved, please consider doing one of the following two things:

1. Registering to become an Organ Donor here: https://www.organdonation.nhs.uk/ if you do, be sure to let me know!
New registrations give me a boost!

2. If you want to help me directly by being tested to see if you could donate, you will need to be aware of the following:
  • Firstly, I am BLOOD TYPE O-NEGATIVE it's important you know this in advance to be considered for a possible direct donation.
    Failing that, an indirect donation is still a possibility. Please still get in touch using the below...
  • Secondly, please complete THIS FORM and someone will get back to you to move things forward.

AGAIN, THANK YOU!