The date was 4th October 2018, a few days before my birthday. The results came through to my phone while taking the bus to visit my GP.

"....under 15% function...."

That's all I remember reading. It meant I was in a serious situation. I wish I was able to read the "results" or more like, interpret what that meant. Could it possibly mean "END-STAGE RENAL FAILURE"? The hopes, dreams and aspirations I had long hoped to see through to fruition, lay shattered on the floor of my mind.

My thoughts started racing as question upon question darted back and forth through my mind. What's going to happen to my children? How am I going to tell the children?! So many questions, I could feel myself starting to well up, eyes blurred with tears, it's a moment that will live with me forever.

Chronic Glomerulonephritis - "acute inflammation of the kidney, typically caused by an immune response"

After leaving the GP's Surgery, I felt as though I hadn't taken in any of what I'd been told. I was in a fog, still more questions than answers - though I'm sure the GP addressed some of them - I wasn't able to absorb the information that was coming at me.
What I do remember is that an urgent referral was sent to get me enrolled in the Organ Transplant Program at a London Hospital - different from where I work.



Being a task-oriented person, to keep my mind busy, I chose to focus on the things I needed to do, things I was able to do;

  • Things I can do NOW to remain as healthy as possible
  • The people I need to inform (family, close friends... the children)
  • Plans I need to put in place, should my health deteriorate rapidly
  • Foods to add/remove from my day to day dietary regime

In those quiet moments of reflection - when I realised, nobody has to die for another person to live! It became a very sobering yet liberating thought - there is a light at the end of this tunnel.

With the time I've had to come to terms with my new reality, I've tried to find a point of reference to focus on. It's called survival, getting through this!
To take back those plans I'd made for my children, my future. I'm not giving up, regardless of how long this takes. I'm determined, I need to be brave, I need to be strong. I need to beat this.

This whole experience - up to this point has humbled me, made me reflect on my life and the things I've achieved. I'm truly grateful, but I'm not ready to go anywhere just yet - I'm not giving up!

The funny thing I've learned about the journey so far...
You never realise or genuinely take note of life-changing news, until it happens to YOU.


You can drop me a message either via Twitter @Naomi_My_Story or HERE I love reading all of your messages of encouragement.
If you are moved by my story and want to get more involved, please consider doing one of the following two things:

1. Registering to become an Organ Donor here: https://www.organdonation.nhs.uk/ if you do, be sure to let me know!
New registrations give me a boost!

2. If you want to help me directly by being tested to see if you could donate, you will need to be aware of the following:
  • Firstly, I am BLOOD TYPE O-NEGATIVE it's important you know this in advance to be considered for a possible direct donation.
    Failing that, an indirect donation is still a possibility. Please still get in touch using the below...
  • Secondly, please complete THIS FORM and someone will get back to you to move things forward.

AGAIN, THANK YOU!