Here is an example of what we're up against, in addition to the lack of BAME Organ Donors, there are people out there happy to muddy the water with incorrect information.

In an effort to spread the news about the meeting on the 10th January 2019 at City Hall in London, my friend Tristram has been posting the following text and link into Black Community Groups on Facebook. Every share helps after all - right? Well, he sent me a copy of one of his posts, and the response he received from one of the Admins to the Group.

Now I get (as does Tristram) that he posted into a Business related Group, but there is still an audience that may well be interested in what's happening within the community.

I invite you to read Tristram's post, read the response to it, watch the video and also read what my friend had to say in response to the comment. At the time I published this, there hasn't been a response back from the unnamed Administrator for the group.

This is a link to the video quoted in the initial response to my friend's post:

*A NAME HAS BEEN REMOVED TO "PROTECT" THE IGNORANT*

These are some of the challenges and opinions we have to overcome, that exist in our Community. The irony I find in all of this... previously the same Group Admin posted the following in the same Group:


Personally, I think Tristram did a good job in not taking on the all too natural role of defending the post with "fire". We all know fighting fire with fire isn't the correct way to do things. We have to tackle the objections of others head-on, but with a view to bringing people around. Entrenching a view doesn't help anyone. I'm minded of the expression "Hearts and Minds", we need to win over hearts and minds with facts. Address the untruths that run rife in the Community. In many ways, it's US who hold our community back. This needs to change, and I encourage everyone to challenge views we come across about Organ Donation we don't feel is true or accurate. We can't go forward listening and believing hearsay. We need to educate ourselves. Wake up and challenge!

I want to send thanks to Tristram for sharing all of the above.


You can drop me a message either via Twitter @Naomi_My_Story or HERE I love reading all of your messages of encouragement.
If you are moved by my story and want to get more involved, please consider doing one of the following two things:

1. Registering to become an Organ Donor here: https://www.organdonation.nhs.uk/ if you do, be sure to let me know!
New registrations give me a boost!

2. If you want to help me directly by being tested to see if you could donate, you will need to be aware of the following:
  • Firstly, I am BLOOD TYPE O-NEGATIVE it's important you know this in advance to be considered for a possible direct donation.
    Failing that, an indirect donation is still a possibility. Please still get in touch using the below...
  • Secondly, please complete THIS FORM and someone will get back to you to move things forward.

AGAIN, THANK YOU!